Suggestions from an optimization engineer

First off, let me say this is such a great game. I hope you see my appreciation in the lengths of this feedback. I appreciate the hard work and if anything comes across as cynical, that's not the intent at all. Also, if there's anything here useful to mechanistry in any way I hereby sign over any rights or intellectual property to mechanistry in the hopes of being able to play an enhanced version of this game I love. I'm not a game developer by trade, I am an electrical engineer which includes some software development and a fair bit of optimization. I hope 

Game Mode:
This game plays very well in an open mode but I think specific goals and scenarios are the biggest way to focus the experience. In my mind you create saves on special maps and have specific objectives like "complete construction of this bridge across a chasm" or "store 1000 of each food resource" or to "store 5,000 water", get a beaver to max happiness (more on this subject below), restore water to a dry lake bed, reach a population of 1,000 (god help your CPU), or similar. Aesthetic pieces like housing or multi-leveled designs could be shown off in these scenarios too giving players more ideas to incorporate into their thriving towns.